Best Products So Far

One of the best things about this whole journey so far has been introducing myself to new foods.  Believe me, I hate trying new things.  Absolutely hate it.  From ages 4-12 I subsisted on cheese and garlic salt sandwiches and the occasional PB&J, and it didn’t get much better thereafter.  No, that’s not an exaggeration.  What I’ve found is that there are actually some really tasty foods out there I had missed in my staunch refusal to add anything remotely new to my refrigerator.

I just want to note that I do not make any moolah from this blog – I am not being paid to advertise, endorse, etc.  While the extra cash would be nice, I value being able to say when something is awesome and when it absolutely sucks, more.

Laughing Cow Light Swiss
I have to say that the first thing that attracted me to this product was the name.  How can you not love something called “Laughing Cow”?  I picked it up because, as I’ve discussed before, I have an undying love for cheese, and the Kraft Fat Free Swiss singles (read: processed garbage) I purchased just wasn’t cutting it.  Laughing Cow Light Swiss comes in a little package of 8 spreadable cheese wedges.    It’s enough to thickly cover one piece of bread or two halves of an english muffin.  It tastes just like real cheese, and it IS real cheese.

Nutrition Info Per Wedge:
Calories: 35
Fat: 2 grams
Fiber: 0 grams

Fiber One Banana Nut Muffin Mix
I bought this mix because for Christmas, I got a muffin tin – this is my first Christmas with my own place that has an oven in it.  Hey, I was excited, okay? I couldn’t wait to use my new bakeware, and the results were fabulous.  The muffins came out moist, and they refrigerate well.  Each boxed mix makes 12 muffins, and each has a whopping 5 grams of fiber.  Side note: I tried the Apples and Cinnamon version of this mix this week, and it isn’t quite as good. 

Nutrition Info Per Muffin:
Calories: 160
Fat: 6 grams
Fiber: 5 grams

Kellogg’s Fiber Plus Antioxidants Chocolate Chip Bars
This product is relatively new on the market.  I bought it, truthfully, because I like the FiberOne bars that are fairly similar, but these were less money.  It’s also embarrassing to admit that I was suckered in by the buzzword “antioxidants.”  I’m glad I succumbed to Kellogg’s marketing tactics, however, because these bars are absolutely fantastic.  They’re chock full of chocolate goodness and also chewy, and in fact, I think they’re even better than their Fiber One cousins (and they have slightly fewer calories).  Each bar contain 35 percent of your daily fiber, and 20 percent of your daily antioxidants vitamin E and zinc.

Nutrition Info Per Bar:
Calories: 120
Fat: 3.5 grams
Fiber: 9 grams

SmartOnes Chicken and Cheese Quesadillas
One of my favorite foods are the quesadillas from Applebee’s, usually smothered in sour cream.  Those however, are now off my menu – by choice.  I found these in my search for a lower-calorie substitute. I’m normally wary of diet frozen diets like SmartOnes, Lean Cuisine, etc., but I was pleasantly surprised by these ‘dillas.  They’re fast (microwaveable) and the tortilla comes out crisp, but not brittle.  The filling is not stingy, and in fact sometimes I have trouble keeping the it from spilling out the other side as I’m biting off a mouthful.

Nutrition Info Per Quesadilla (2 per box):
Calories: 220
Fat: 7 grams
Fiber: 5 grams

Weight Watchers Giant Latte Bars
Coffee + ice cream lovers, get your fix here.  I expected these ice cream bars to be tiny and flavorless, but they’re actually gigantic (truth in advertising, way to go Weight Watchers!) and really tasty.  They make great dessert, and I’ve eaten a couple when the temptation to take a trip to Starbucks is sneaking up on me.

Nutrition Info Per Bar:
Calories: 90
Fat: 1 gram
Fiber: 4 grams

Upon eating any of these products, the average person wouldn’t know they’re healthy unless someone told them or they got ahold of the box.  I’m going to have fun springing some of these on my family members! 😉

5 thoughts on “Best Products So Far

Leave a Reply

