Tasty Products: Round Two

Don’t get me wrong, I adore all the tasty finds I wrote about previously, but after four weeks, I started to get a little bored.  Last week’s grocery trip was an adventure in shopping, and most of the items I found definitely qualify as “yum.”

Skinny Cow Strawberry Shortcake Ice Cream Sandwiches
I’ve had Skinny Cow items before, and they’ve always impressed me with their fabulous taste and minuscule calories.  I saw the strawberry-flavored version and couldn’t resist.  I was a little nervous that they might taste like they contained strawberry cough syrup, but they are so delicious!  They rival anything you could find at your local DQ.  Plus, how can you not love a product that has the Laughing Cow’s skinnier cousin on its packaging?

Nutrition Info Per Sandwich:
Calories: 140
Fat: 2 grams
Fiber: 3 grams

Midget Kosher Dill Pickles
While these aren’t a product marketed towards people trying to lose weight, they have been a HUGE help to me.  It’s forbidden by Weight Watchers to post points for things, but let’s just say the number of points in each salty, satisfying green bite rhymes with “blearo.”  The nutritional info for each brand varies, but the ones I buy have an astonishing 5 calories per serving.

100 Calorie Planter’s Peanut Butter Crisps
I love peanut butter.  I love anything that has peanut butter in it – recall be damned.  These were another impulse buy that worked out.  The cookies are just like their full-fat neighbors, with the exception of the peanut butter filling in the middle.  Though I do miss that, I’d rather eat cookies with no filling in the middle than have a middle that’s way too full of filling.  Say that a few times!

Nutrition Info Per Cookie Pack:
Calories: 100
Fat: 3 grams
Fiber: 1 gram

Canned Pumpkin
This too is available in a wide variety of brands.  I got the idea to use this from the ladies and gents at the Weight Watchers boards.  One can of pumpkin can be substituted for oil and eggs in a Spice Cake mix, and the result is delicious, low point cake that is perfect for gobbling down in the winter.  I’ve been tossing pieces of the cake in the microwave and having it for dessert for the past week.

Lean Cuisine Macaroni and Cheese
As a former devotee of the Cult of Neon-Colored Pasta, one of my first priorities this week was to find a suitable replacement for my previous idol, Kraft Mac ‘N Cheese.  First, I tried SmartOnes’ macaroni and cheese dish.  Ugh.  It was like eating shrunken cardboard paper towel tubes coated in melted spray cheese.  I felt completely burned by “diet” mac, but tried Lean Cuisine’s version anyway, and I’m so glad I did.  It tastes almost as good as Stouffer’s mac and cheese.  Tip: Let the dish sit for 3-4 minutes after you take it out of the microwave.  The sauce will thicken up and it will be way more satisfying.

Nutrition Info Per Tray:
Calories: 290
Fat: 7 grams
Fiber: 1 gram

I really hope I continue to find products that are low in points and high in taste.  Thanks to dropping into the 220s at my last weigh in, I got another daily point ripped away from me, and I really miss it!

8 thoughts on “Tasty Products: Round Two

  1. You can totally post points in your own blog, just not on the message boards!

    I wasn’t aware of these strawberry shortcake skinny cows! I hope they come to my grocery store soon!

    Do they taste just like the strawberry shortcake bars from the ice cream man? You’re from WI so you know what I’m talking about.

  2. Awesome! Just thought I’d let you know that i found your blog through WW boards. And I totally look forward to reading what you have to say all the time. I know that sounds weird but it makes me feel better. Sorta inspired me to start writing about my experience. Just to get it all out. Ok, i’m done now. Just wanted to say hi!

  3. I LOVE the strawberry Skinny Cow sandwiches!! I’ve been eating canned pumpkin mixed with sugar-free fat-free vanilla pudding and pumpkin pie spice topped with a little fat free cool whip for dessert this week, and I think I’ve found a new fave. You get 1/2 a serving of dairy and 1/2 a serving of veg all in one quick dessert. Now, I’m out of pumpkin so I need to go to the store.

    Great list! Thanks for sharing it!

  4. nic, they do! They’re a little different texture than the strawberry shortcake bars, but they’re just as good. Totally yum!

  5. Hey, I never thought about eating pickles before dinner… that’s an awesome idea. I usually eat them late at night when I’m still hungry but out of points, lol.

Leave a Reply

