The Picture of Shame

It wasn’t the sole reason I decided to lose weight.  It wasn’t even a large part – but there is a photo that has been a source of shame to me since the moment.  It was taken last summer, at a typical small-town bar near my sister’s cabin.  There’s nothing out of the ordinary in the photo.  I’m even wearing black, which is supposed to be slimming.

The black bar should belong to me in this photo.

The black bar should belong to me in this photo.

Compared to the other girls, I look mammoth.  I dwarf the others.  Upon looking at it, I didn’t even recognize myself.  I couldn’t imagine that I had let myself get so big – but I had.  It was the same with all subsequent pictures of me.  I almost couldn’t bring myself to look at them, thinking that if I didn’t look, the problem didn’t exist.
I’m happy to say that’s slowly reversing – very slowly.  I have recent pictures of myself, and I hope to post them soon.  Sorry to be so serious in this post.  I usually try to inject some humor into what I write, but there’s nothing funny I can think to say about the above photo.  All I can say is that I’ve left that girl in the dust, and I will never be there again.
8 thoughts on “The Picture of Shame

  1. Hey, saw a link for your blog on the WW website :). I’ve got a few of those pictures myself, hopefully one day I’ll have the courage to post them. Congrats on the 20 lb loss!

  2. I think all of us WW girls have some pics like that around. They’re good reminders of why we’re doing what we’re doing. You are on the way to becoming a healthier, thinner you. So don’t sweat it. Hang in there. 🙂

  3. Don’t worry, we all have pictures like that…But don’t let it get you down, look at that picture and use it as a reminder of why you’re on this journey!
    ::hugs!!!::

  4. I’m trying to look at this picture like “I can’t wait until it’s the “before” picture and I’m the “after””! Lol.

  5. Been awhile since I stopped by, and as usual you are right on target with everything, lol.

    I have so so many pictures (and you know me, they’re with some pretty recognizable people!) that will never see the light of day because I look like Jabba the Hut (or perhaps, as in ‘Space Balls’, Pizza the Hut is more like it).

    It was a picture that set me off as well though. As you know I just turned 30, which means it was time for a new drivers license. When I got back to my car I sat and stared at the new picture and then cried for about a good 10 mins. I didn’t recognize the person in the picture anymore. All I could think was … ‘omg, THAT’s what people see me like?!?!’ and so that was the point when I finally snapped and decided I needed to get my act together.

Leave a Reply

