Escaping the Cadbury Eggs

I love Easter candy.  Love, love, love it.  Maybe it’s nostalgia, but honestly, who doesn’t love to bite the head off a hollow chocolate rabbit?

This Easter (which in local retail stores began shortly before St. Patrick’s Day, slowly edging out glittery shamrocks and shot glasses on strings of beads), I’ve felt like images of malted milk ball eggs and pastel jelly beans were following me wherever I went.  I’d go into a store and swear that the monstrous candy rabbits were giving me come-hither stares from their brightly-colored boxes across the aisle.

I tried avoiding the Easter section at Target, but found it necessary to make my way into the lion’s den to purchase a present for my young niece. Armed with willpower and a diet soda, I wandered past Reese’s peanut butter eggs, Cadbury eggs, marshmallow bunnies, Peeps… etc. Finally I selected a chocolate, chick-shaped lollipop to put in my niece’s basket, and all but knocked aside grandmothers and toddlers in my desperation to get away from all those delicious, sugary confections.

My mom asked if she could get me anything for Easter (which I think was very considerate) and I asked for just one Reese’s peanut butter egg and just one Cadbury egg.  I was honestly surprised when she showed up with only one of each; I thought for sure she’d try to sabotage me out of some motherly-instinct that involves feeding one’s children entirely too much food.  I received another mini Reese’s egg from my sister, and discreetly passed off a Russell Stover egg given to me by my grandma.

Only three pieces of candy.  No problem, right? Oh, so wrong.  Instead of spacing them out over a few days as  I had planned to do, I gobbled down all three in the time span of about five minutes, and immediately was disappointed in myself.  It didn’t help that in the middle of the next night, I demolished a two-pack of Fiber One chocolate toaster pastries.

So to make a long story short, I didn’t escape Easter’s clutches unscathed.  I’m pretty sure my carbo-loaded week is going to get me in some hot water on the scale this weekend.

2 thoughts on “Escaping the Cadbury Eggs

  1. Don’t worry! That still sounds like a victory to me, the girl who ate 100+ points on Easter…..

    We’re both back on track and that’s what matters.

Leave a Reply

