The Top Five Best/Worst/Most Odd Compliments

So many people have been very kind to me with regards to my weight loss journey – hearing compliments reinforces for me what the scale says (versus my own mental image of what I look like, sometimes). But there have been some truly strange ones that have required significant effort on my part to keep a straight face…

1) Look at you!

This has to be my favorite.  What does that even mean?  I feel like this one could go either way – is it “Look at you, fabulous girl!” or “Look at you, elephant-look-alike!”?  Best of all, it has come from a male relative at a seedy bar.  That just lends it a bit of a creeper vibe.

2) You must be so close to goal!

“Wow, thank you, but actually, I have about 25 lbs. to go.” <—- met with completely blank stares, gaped mouths, and an inquiry into my mental health, ready to go.  And I know that this will be the result of my response every time, but I feel like I’m committing the sin of omission if I just say “thank you.”  Yes, I do have 25 lbs. left to goal.  And maybe that is shocking to some, but these are the same people who had the same reaction when I told them that I weighed nearly 250 lbs. before.

3) Hi there skinny!

Once again, thank you, but I didn’t start this journey to be skinny.  Really, I don’t want to look like a model – if your collarbone juts out enough to be used as a coat rack, you’re too thin.  I always kind of pictured my ideal self as rather Amazonian – tall, muscular, curvy.  So… call me “Xena” and I’ll take it as a compliment, k?

4) Your pants are getting so big! *tug on said pants*

Nekkidness in public is uncool.  Really uncool, actually – so tugging on someone’s pants that are indeed too big is not really a great idea.  Especially me, because (I’ll admit it) my choice of skivvies are not full coverage in nature – I’d prefer to keep my cheeks in my pants, please.  Plus, pants are expensive.   So if you think my pants are too big, ask my size and go buy me some new ones.  I prefer Old Navy jeans, kthnxbai.

5) You’re like the incredible shrinking woman!

I actually really liked this one.  It makes me feel powerful and small at the same time, lol.

These aren’t the only jaw-droppers I’ve heard, so you can bet there will be a Part 2 to this entry coming up sometime soon.

8 thoughts on “The Top Five Best/Worst/Most Odd Compliments

  1. This post just cracks me up 🙂 My favorite is “Wow how much have you lost?” Usually followed up by, “How much more to goal?” When I can just see them calculating in my head how much I weighed, how much I currently weigh, and then compairing their weight to my own. Seriously, I still weight 278 lbs (so no where near you skinny xena warrior (lol) but obviously I’m not at a weight where I’m comfortable shouting it from the rooftops!

  2. “Wow, thank you, but actually, I have about 25 lbs. to go.” <—- met with completely blank stares, gaped mouths, and an inquiry into my mental health, ready to go. " lol funny!

    I actually had a friend I had bumped into start to argue with me about what my goal weight should be when I told her I had another 20kg to lose.
    http://seelieness.wordpress.com

  3. OMG this post made me laugh out loud! It’s so true people don’t always know how to compliment. I will def be coming back to your blog you seem like you have a great sense of humor!

  4. Lol, isn’t that mental math just hilarious to watch? I can’t get your site to come up, scalewarfare, would you post the link? I’d love to read.

    Seelieness, I just headed over to your blog, CONGRATULATIONS, you have come so far! So inspirational.

    WWForOne, can I hire you to come cook for me? Everything on your blog looks so delicious!

  5. Just found your blog and you are (1st) and inspiration and (2nd) hilarious! I have lost 56 lbs on Weight Watchers and I started January 5th, 2009. Still not sure what my goal is…

    My favorite comment from someone:

    “So, how does your husband feel about your weight loss?”

    Really?? Do I care what my husband feels? I am not sure what I was supposed to say to that?

  6. I have to say, your blog is hilarious- especially this post. I can definitely relate and it seems like a lot of other women can too. I’m at a point in my weight loss where people comment on my baggy pants all the time too. I have never come up with something clever to reply, but I’m not going to go out and buy new pants with every ten lbs I lose!

  7. Lol, Danielle! That one just might take the cake. I’d be like, “Well, since it’s the 21st century and husbands no longer own their wives, it doesn’t matter what he feels!” TY for reading! 🙂

    Candace, thank you! Definitely solicit donations if people are commenting about your pants – I totally do. “O rly? My pants are too big? Well, if you want to contribute to my pants fund, go ahead.”

Leave a Reply

