One Year With Weight Watchers

Rare serious post ahead. 😉

Today marks my one year anniversary with Weight Watchers – and I can honestly say it has been the best year of my life.

Yes, I’ve lost weight, but it’s what I’ve gained that truly matters.  I’m still a work in progress, but my confidence has shot upwards.  I can now shop at any store I please without being afraid that I’m too big for their clothing.  I can run a mile without feeling like I’m going into cardiac arrest.  Etc., etc., etc.  The full list could go on for pages.  For the first time in my adult life, I feel like a normal member of society, instead of feeling like I’m on the outside looking in.

It has cost me a lot of blood, sweat, and tears, to use the cliché – but there is no price for any of the above. 

As I stepped on the scale this morning, I prayed for a miraculous loss.  It didn’t happen.  And perhaps, it’s fitting – to start this new year the way I did the last, with hope, but not with the elation that comes from feeling proud of yourself.  Last year, I didn’t feel like Super Woman – and I didn’t at weigh-in today either. 

But I am determined.  I’ve said it to friends, I’m calling 2010 the Year of Lisa.  This is the year that I will reach my goal weight.  I will continue to do things I’ve never done, to experience life in new ways and to keep proving to myself that anything is possible if I work hard and want it enough.

See my determination face? Yeah, don't mess with me.

I know that many of the people who read my blog aspire to lose weight, but haven’t yet begun their journey, or are maybe experiencing a hiccup along the way.  So I’m saying to you – you are the only thing standing in the way of reaching your dreams.  No matter what is in your way, you can make it through.  I never thought I’d be here, sitting at my laptop, wearing size medium clothing.  I thought that weight loss was impossible and that I was going to be stuck in an overweight person’s body for the rest of my life.  If you too, are sitting at your computer, wondering if you can do it – I want to tell you that you can.  You can make the decision to take charge of your life right now, this moment.

I am so incredibly grateful for all the comments and encouragement I’ve received on this blog.  You all have believed in me – and I believe in you. 

Thank you all so, so much from the bottom of my heart.

5 thoughts on “One Year With Weight Watchers

  1. Oh wow. Congratulations on your WW-versary. 🙂

    And, really, you should take the time to write down that list that would “fill pages” – you’ve earned every one of those line items!

    Here’s to the Year of Lisa! Look forward to following along.

  2. This is my first time visiting your blog – I saw it on the WW 20 year old boards. I loved the line where you said – “you are the only thing standing in the way of reaching your dreams.” Just wanted to let you know I’m stealing it and applying it to my life! 🙂 Thanks for the encouragement. Your weight loss is an inspiration! I’m sure you will have the best 2010! I plan on it too!

    KC

  3. Hi Lisa,

    I’m SO happy for you! Congratulations on all of your success in the last year.

    How did you feel at this time last year? Fully ready and excited to tackle the task of wl? Tentative about the changes to be made? Terrified of failure? Confident of impending success?

  4. Nomulent, Anna, and KC, thank you all! You are fabulous. 🙂

    Q, thank you! (Whoa, that rhymes. ;)) This time last year I was having probably all of those feelings depending on the hour/minute. It has been such a rollercoaster the whole way but I’m definitely on the homestretch.

Leave a Reply

