It’s Mai Birfdai

(That’s LOLspeak for those unaware.  Translation: It’s my birthday.)

Yup, today I’m 25.  A whole quarter-century’s worth of life.  And this was supposed to be my moment in the sun, at goal in just over a year.

As you can see, I’m not there.

I’m not upset about this at all, surprisingly.  I knew I was setting up a tough goal in that particular timeline, and I’m not sorry that I didn’t reach it by the time I wanted.

I’m not sorry that I’m wearing size 8 jeans right now.
I’m not sorry that now, I’d rather eat fruit salad than a candy bar.
I’m not sorry that I no longer have trouble breathing when I lay down in bed at night.
I’m not sorry that I no longer have to pause and catch my breath every time I go up a flight of stairs.
I’m not sorry that I can run 3 miles without stopping.
I’m not sorry that instead of casting my eyes down at the pavement, I have enough confidence to look at people when I pass them on the sidewalk.
I’m not sorry that instead of quitting, like every other hard thing I’ve tried to in my life, I’ve kept going.
I’m not sorry that I’m more proud of myself than I’ve ever been in my entire life.

I’m not sorry for all the positive ways my life has changed.  And I’m not sorry that I set a time goal at the beginning of this long, strange journey.  It helped keep me motivated at times when I just didn’t feel like going the extra mile.

So, I’m setting a new one, just a tough to reach as the first.  My new endeavor is to be at my goal weight by April 17, 2010, when I run the Challenge Obesity 5K in St. Paul, Minn., with a group of fellow Weight Watchers.  I want to cross that finish line at 145 lbs.  And if I work hard enough, I know I can get there.

16 thoughts on “It’s Mai Birfdai

  1. Happy birthday.

    And those are a load of reasons you can be proud of yourself. I look forward to the day I can run 3 miles without stopping, and get up a flight of stairs without being out of breath.

    Best of luck for your next weight goal.

  2. Awesome blog – and totally kickass list of “I’m not sorry’s”…Why have I not discovered your blog sooner? Happy Birthday, lady!

  3. Happy Birthday! Congratulations on what I would consider to be your real successes. Weight is a number. Your list is tangible proof of success. Keep up the good work and inspiration!

  4. Awesome blog. Just adore you. I’m also in the TC-area, and will likely be at that 5k on April 17th. I too, am on a weight-loss journey and have made a resolution to run 12 5ks in the next 12 months. 🙂

  5. You have so much to be proud of. Goals are meant to serve as motivation, and you’ve clearly made amazing progress, good luck with your new goal! We all know you’ve got the determination to do it 🙂

    -cait_losey from WW

  6. Oh lordy.. I just read all the way back to summer of 2009 in your blog.. You’ve got me hooked girl 🙂 Love your writing style and I started from most recent and worked my way back. Going from 225 down to 145 and now back to 183, I felt everything you felt during your weightloss and continue to feel 🙂 So glad you stuck with it because you look AMAZING! Happy Birthday. Following you on Twitter as well @h0neyb 🙂

  7. Happy Birthday Lisa! I love reading your blog- you’re a true inspiration! Go celebrate and enjoy every single one of those successes- you’ve earned them all.

  8. Happy Birthday! I just wanted to tell you that I just spent the morning reading your whole blog and I love it. Thank you so much for sharing your journey with us! I just recently began my journey and it is so inspiring to see someone else who has done it. Plus, your blog makes me laugh. Can’t wait to read more!!! ~Mary

  9. You’re only 25? You have so much living to do. I’m so happy for you that you took the bull by the horns now and made these changes. I wish I had when I was your age.

    Happy Birthday! The gift isn’t the goal achieved, it’s the road traveled to get there. And from what you’ve posted today, you’ve had a marvelous journey thus far.

    Make this the most awesome year ever.

  10. You all are absolutely wonderful! After reading all of these comments I feel like the luckiest person in the world. Thank you for being so awesome!

Leave a Reply

