Tasty and Delicious, The Next Round

Back when I was just a wee young blogger, I posted a couple of times about products I found extremely tasty for a bargain-basement number of calories. Since lately I’ve been going over grocery shelves with a magnifying glass in search of new nosh to help me out of this slump I’m in, I thought I’d share some here.

Kellogg’s Fiber Plus Antioxidants Chocolatey Peanut Butter Bars
I love peanut butter. Like, a “could eat it with a spoon out of the jar” level of adoration. Anything with peanut butter in the title is going to catch my wandering eye at the store, guaranteed. After being recently burned by another new fiber product which shall remain nameless, I almost passed these up. To my relief, they’re delicious. Even more so if you warm them up for 10 seconds in the microwave (granted, I have to do this because I keep them in the freezer so I don’t eat 10 at once and drive away every friend I’ve ever had with the resulting flatulence).

Nutrition Facts per Bar:
Calories: 130
Fat: 5 g
Fiber: 9 g

Quaker Instant Oatmeal Lower Sugar Fruit & Cream Variety Pack
Breakfast in my household when I was a kid usually went along the lines of rummaging about in the oatmeal box for blueberry, strawberry, peach, or banana creamy goodness. (Which my mom then drowned in far too much milk, serving me a helping of oatmeal soup. Tragic, I know.) The fruity Quaker variety pack has remained a favorite, which is why I actually squeed in excitement when I found the new Lower Sugar version on the shelf. Each packet tastes just as delicious as the regular instant version, though I hope they will roll out with blueberry and banana flavors as well as the strawberries and peaches pack they currently sell.

Nutrition Information per Packet:
Calories: 130
Fat: 2-3 g
Fiber: 2 g

Red Peppers
This isn’t exactly along the lines of the usual products I talk about, but in my further attempts to include my arch-nemesis, the vegetable, into my daily diet, I’ve started using red peppers quite frequently. I like spicy food in general – I enjoy the challenge inherent in taking on food that attempts to make me tearful/red in the face. My favorite thing to do is to pour some extra-virgin olive oil in a frying pan over medium heat, add chicken breast, garlic, finely chopped red peppers, some cajun seasoning, and freshly ground black pepper, and cook until the chicken is done. Sometimes I put the contents of the frying pan in a pita wrap (you can’t hate eating what you can’t see, right?) or else I’ll eat it just on its own and try to forget that a most-hated vegetable has taken up residence on my plate. Most of the time, it works.

Nutrition Information per Medium Pepper:
Calories: 30
Fat: 0 g
Fiber: 2 g

Flatout Light Original Flatbread
Generally, I’m a bread girl.  So even though I had heard about the fantastic nature of all things Flatout for quite some time, I snubbed them in favor of my usual loaf.  But then, someone uttered the magic word: pizza.  Now, I’m a huge fan of using these wraps to make psuedo-pizzas since my daily points allowance doesn’t exactly allow for a huge helping of Domino’s every night, wish/pray/beg as I may.  Best recipe: heat your oven to 350, put one wrap on a cookie sheet and spread with 1/2 a teaspoon of extra-virgin olive oil.  Bake for 3 minutes, then remove from oven (careful!), spread with 1 wedge of Laughing Cow Light Original Swiss, 1/4 cup of Contadina Pizza Squeeze, and 12 slices of Hormel’s turkey pepperoni.  Pop it back in the oven for another 7-8 minutes (longer if you like a crispier crust), and enjoy!

Nutrition Information per Flatbread:
Calories: 90
Fat: 2.5 g
Fiber: 9 g

Thus ends my attempts to be all Martha Stewartish and give cooking advice.  And once again, a reminder that I do not receive compensation of any kind to promote these or any products.

7 thoughts on “Tasty and Delicious, The Next Round

Leave a Reply

