Weeks Sixty-Four and Sixty-Five Results/Random Etc. Thoughts

Hi. My name is Lisa, and I’m trying to lose weight and blog about it. Remember me?

I wouldn’t blame you if you didn’t – I have been neglecting this blog. And my weight loss journey, just a little.

I haven’t really made this public, but for the past seven months I’ve been preparing to be confirmed as a member of my faith, and it all led up to this previous Saturday – confirmation day! In the excitement/nervousness/stress of it all, Weight Watchers sort of fell by the wayside this last week. Because I kind of let it. Whoops?

So, we have one of my famous “update you all w/fab. news then take it back with some horrendous news re: results” posts.

Week Sixty-Four Results:

Starting stats:
Weight: 247 lbs.
BMI: 36.5

Today’s stats:
Weight: 170 lbs.
BMI: 25.1

Week Sixty-Five Results:

Starting stats:
Weight: 247 lbs.
BMI: 36.5

Today’s stats:
Weight: 171.2 lbs.
BMI: 25.3

And yet, I feel thinner today than I did the day I stepped on the scale and saw 170 (again). Likely, it’s all in my extremely cluttered brain. And the fact that my last two clothing purchases were size small and the ensuing giddiness might also have just a smidge to do with it.

For the six-millionth time – onward! I did so well this weekend, IMHO. Saturday I passed up cake at the reception after confirmation. Easter Sunday: my family does not enjoy cooking. So we went to a hideously-overpriced buffet that was at least 75% dessert items. What did I have? Scrambled eggs, pineapple, breakfast potatoes w/peppers and onions, and one tiny chocolate doughnut and one miniscule lemon tart. And about six Diet Cokes (but who’s counting?) since Lent is officially over. I passed up pecan pie, one of my favorites, and I also ignored cupcakes and Reese’s peanut butter eggs back at my sister’s house.

I did, however, bring one of each home to enjoy later this week. They have taken up residence in my freezer, and both remained safe from my mindless bingeing throughout the evening. My Easter splurge was a Cadbury creme egg – frozen! Did you know they’re just as tasty frozen? It’s true! And it makes them last a lot longer. Definitely try it if you have some left over.

And then I topped my crazy, crazy weekend off by looking through old pictures of me on facebook and a) breaking down into tears yet again at how awful I used to look and b) wondering how I could have lived so long in disbelief. I mean, I always knew I was overweight, but how, when I viewed myself in pictures before, did I not truly grasp the magnitude of letting myself be obese when I was that young?

Long-awaited conclusion: it was an amazing weekend, weigh-in results and photo-induced cry-fest not withstanding.

How did you do this weekend?

5 thoughts on “Weeks Sixty-Four and Sixty-Five Results/Random Etc. Thoughts

  1. I pretty much had the same sob fest this weekend. Weird. I was browsing photos from 2004 on my computer and was just so sad at the way I looked. I am planning on doing a post about it soon because the before pictures on my blog are pre weight watchers, but they are pre weight loss adn I can’t believe that I used to look like that. Oh well, much more positive today!

  2. On a scale of 1-10, I’d say I scored a 4 this weekend. I went a little crazy with “just a bite” at easter Brunch on Sunday, and I did not compensate the rest of the day. I only did abds, no cardio or stength workout (as I had planned), and I ate a fair amount of pizza for dinner.

    I probably didn’t go to far over my points (havne’t tracked it yet). But I feel like a sluggo today.

    Glad to see you’re posting more on this blog, I enjoy reading it.

  3. Great to see you back. About the sobfest and how you let yourself go so to speak. I think we all subconsciously know how big we are when we were at our biggest. I think we try to avoid the issue because it seems overwhelming to lose 50+, 100+ pounds. It just seems unattainable, and i think that is because we want to look good yestrday, when it took yrs to get to the peak weight. it is hard to just get it done. I myself look back and have similar thoughts but i also rmemeber looking back at my HS photos and back thne i was 25-30 pounds lighter than i am now, but back thne i thoguht i was FAT. That is the problem, when we were at a normal weight we think we are fat bc of the magazines and maybe other skinnier people around us that we don’t feel up to par. Bring on the yoyo dieting add 10-15 yrs depenidng on your age now and your at your peak weight. it’s a very complicated issue.

  4. We all survived, woohoo!

    Ashleigh – it definitely is so tough to look at those kinds of photos. But we’re here, making our lives better, woohoo! 😀

    Caitlin – Holiday meals are so hard! But you totally have me beat, I didn’t workout *at all* last weekend. So rock on, sista!

    Jen, thank you! Your blog is absolutely wonderful.

    Ulla – I 100% agree with you. I’m sure I subconsciously knew how overweight I was, but didn’t want to acknowledge it. You’re right, it definitely is super complicated.

    Thanks for reading, all! 🙂 ❤

Leave a Reply

