Recap: Challenge Obesity 5K

This is me, reporting in on last weekend’s 5K, severely tardy to the party. At least I showed up?

First off: I wasn’t nearly as nervous as I was for my previous two 5Ks. In fact, I was pretty chill, which is kind of a shocker. Anxiety and I are good bedfellows – we snuggle, in fact, none of that “get off my side of the mattress” crap. I woke up, bounced out of bed, and after my scale mishap, put on my happy face and grabbed my race day breakfast.

Well, Naked Juice, you failed me. I had a free coupon, I’d heard good reviews, and when I selected the berryish protein-filled concoction from amongst the rest of the flavors, I expected taste of orgasmatastic proportions. Nope, sorry. I think it tasted chalky and gritty, not unlike leaving your juice bottle at a playground and coming back later to find that an inquisitive toddler has filled it with sand and colorful sidewalk chalk. I took two drinks and crossed it off my list of stuff to buy in the future (and yet frugal Midwestern me couldn’t throw it away because even though it was free to me, it was still fairly expensively priced on the shelf).

Disappointed, I moved on to my go-to pre-running foods, a banana and some cocoa roast almonds. Delicious as always.

When I arrived at the race site, I was trying to meet up with so many people. It was absolutely bonkers. BUT, it was also great – I met some ladies from the WW boards, some I met through Jen (priorfatgirl), my sister Dawn and my niece Julia, and some people I met that day. The atmosphere was totally charged with all the people there who had lost weight and made a commitment to living a healthier lifestyle. I felt so lucky to be able to be with all those amazing people!

Dawn is amazing, she managed to get this pic at the exact second I went across the finish line.

My shirt was kind of a big hit. And I feel like I for sure ran faster with “247” behind me, both literally and figuratively

I didn’t get my best time ever, but I finished. I finished the race, and I am finished with obesity. Done. Kaput. End. No going back. NO MORE, you hear me, fat? I’ve had it with you.

For more race day photos (and to read their amazing stories!) check out Mary at FitthisGirl and Jen at priorfatgirl at their sites, http://tinyurl.com/2c4mtwr and http://tinyurl.com/233cxcx respectively.

What’s next up re: running? Another 5K on June 12 in Bloomington, Minn., and training for [insert suspenseful music here] a 10K. You eyes aren’t pulling a funny on you, I swear. I decided to go big or go home, and I’m going to run my town’s 10K race in July. Running makes me feel like there’s nothing I can’t accomplish, and so I set my sights a little higher (longer?). I’m going to make it! 🙂

8 thoughts on “Recap: Challenge Obesity 5K

  1. Your shirt was a hit because of the person wearing it and all that you have accomplished. Congratulations on being an inspiration for so many and giving people something to believe in. You prove that it is possible.

  2. Hi Lisa-

    This is a great story. Thanks for sharing it. I love Charities Challenge races.

    I write for the Minnesota Distance Running Association (MDRA) and every week I round up all the race reports from the weeks before. Would it be okay to share your race report on our blog? It would show up here: http://runminnesota.blogspot.com/2010/04/race-results-and-reports-roundup-5.html

    You can e-mail and let me know. I think a lot of people would like reading your story. Very cool.

Leave a Reply

