Help Wanted

As the saying goes, I’m down, but I’m not out. I know that I can be successful and reach my goal. 

So I stocked my kitchen: 

Trader Joe's trip = mission accomplished.

Apples, peppers, bananas, and potatoes, oh my!

 After I filled my fridge and cupboards with good stuff that is mostly unplanned snack-resistant, I decided that I need a more personal outlet to get out issues that are non-weight loss related. So in the fashion of my old college notebooks, I handcrafted a journal that I’m going to use to try to pour my stress and troubles into: 

The front of my new "Feelings Trash Can."

  

Blank now, filled to the brim with "issues" later.

Sidenote: if you’ve never made a notebook or item similar to this, I highly recommend it. Grab some old magazines, and cut out images and items that appeal to you, even if it seems strange or you’re unsure why you like it. With a little glue and clear tape or contact paper, you end up with a book covered with bits and pieces of your personality, essentially – very cool. 

I even ate a cup of spinach this weekend for the first time EVAR. Yes, I’m that serious… I’m willing to eat plants. Sort of. When I was done with it, it looked like this: 

I'll take spinach puree for 400 please, Alex.

And after the addition of some chocolate Almond Breeze, a banana, and a cup of strawberries, the result was this: 

Yes, it really turned out kind of a black-ish color. I definitely was wishing for the wine behind it, instead.

I am committed to giving up every excuse and forcing myself to make hard decisions. But I know I can’t do this in a vacuum. 

So I need your help. I need you to share with me your best tips, your tales of triumph over tough situations. Anything you want to tell me, I’ll listen. I need the support of everyone who reads this blog more than ever.

18 thoughts on “Help Wanted

  1. Looks like you are taking good steps to address the issues you identified for yourself! You have come a long way with your WLJ – your stats are great even if you feel like you have taken a few steps backwards!

    One of my favorite tips is to try to get in all my servings of fruits, veggies, dairy, etc… in my breakfast, lunch and snacks. That way by the time dinner rolls around, I don’t have to worry about eating a certain amount of anything specific just to get my GHGs in!

    Also, besides my weight loss goal – I set a goal for myself that is within my control. I want to be a WW leader when I reach goal. Before I set a goal that was out of my control and when it didn’t work out, my motivation for losing the weight was gone and I gained weight back. Pick a motivation/goal that is not weight related and that is within your control and grasp!

    YOU CAN DO IT!

  2. Your back on track and that’s what matters. I have been struggling myself. I have gained the last three weeks in a row. I have been truely frustrated!!

    I am totally here for you! We can be each others support group!!

  3. You can do this. You want to know how I know this? Because you have come soo far. You are truly an inspiration. You have stuck with it for almost a year and half. I look up to you. I want to accomplish how much you have. I joined WW last Friday at 305.4 lbs. Last weekend, I read your entire blog from start to finish. You will get through this little bump in the road. I’m here on the sidelines rooting for you!

  4. Hey – great idea with the notebook – super cute! You look like you are on the right track… Just take it one day, one meal at a time. Think about how much better you feel after you eat something good, or have a really good workout or accomplish something you have never accomplished before or even thought you could. Those things usually seem to help me. Keep it up!

  5. that journal is so adorable! love it!

    sometimes when i need encouragement i sit and write down feelings that i remember at my highest…so, write down what 247 meant to you, how it made you feel, etc. then project to your future. write down what your goal weight means to you, how you think it will make you feel, etc.

    you can do this! you’ve some so far already!!! yay!

    –adrienne

  6. Hi Lisa!
    Its Sarah, we talked a couple times, quite a few months ago, on facebook as i was struggling like many others with my weight loss. Well I have no shame in saying that my weight creeped back on and reached an all time high!! I was at 180.2 lbs on my 5’2″ petite frame…I was miserable and felt like I had no place to run. So I kept reading your blog, and comments from all the other awesome people that are in this journey as well and I decided once and for all to make a commitment to change my life. My journey was honestly inspired by you and after 16 weeks on weight watchers I have lost 23.2 lbs…the lowest weight i have been at in three years. I am so excited about the way I feel and know that you can do it to! I am still so inspired by your story and admire your strength for still posting, it only shows how strong you are! Keep it up you are doing it!!!!!! Sarah

  7. It seems like you are on the right track! I always start with stocking my kitchen and making only fruits and veggies available for snacks. Great idea with the journal though, I bet that will be a an awesome tool.

    Whenever I need to get back on track I schedule my workouts for the week, drink MASS amounts of water, and eat as many fruits + veggies as possible. I also eat very often but eat things like carrots, apples, greek yogurt so I never feel hungry. I also try and keep myself busy and away from bad food! You’ve accomplished so much you don’t want to give up now, you will reach your goal!!

  8. Hi Lisa -Trader Joe’s is definitely one of my favorites. I also LOVE that journal idea – it turned out so great! I’m going to have to try it, but I feel like I always have cool looking journals and never know what to write in them!

  9. Katie – thank you! I think you will be a fabulous leader. 🙂 Absolutely love your suggestion about trying to get GHGs in earlier during the day. I tend to try to spread them out and I’m definitely more willing to trade in those GHGs for something tasty at the end of the day.

  10. Adrienne – that is going to be my journal assignment tonight. I’m really going to sit down and try to think about that and actually get it down in words. Thank you SO MUCH!

  11. Beth, thanks! My journal is so random – I have everything from entire entries devoted to one subject to just the odd word here and there. It’s definitely a useful tool, IMHO.

Leave a Reply

