Oh, Boys.

Right. I know I’m missing some results posts – but what I really want to blog about right now is…

Guys.

I’ve probably mentioned this before, but I live in Collegetown, USA. Guys my age are more scarce than helpful employees in a big box store. I honestly want to card any guy I do meet to verify I’m not flirting with jail bait. Apparently I also don’t notice when men notice me, say complimentary things about me, or flirt with me, either. And while there are a couple of guys I know that I’d be interested in dating, they’re not biting.

So I went fishing online. That’s right, I dove into eHarmony’s pond. Friends have been encouraging me to do so (even to the point of bribery) for quite some time, but I just wasn’t ready until now.

I won’t lie, it’s an ego-boost to have guys contact me with interest. It’s also nice to be able to kind of weed out any pot-smoking, perpetually unemployed anarchists. However, it feels far too close to the same process I use to select and purchase a pair of stilettos online. We’ll see how it goes.

It’s just nice to finally feel ready to date – I haven’t for a long time. Right now, my self-esteem is at an all-time high and I’m taking advantage of that.

A recent event has kind of marred the whole idea of relationships for me, but even that is being tempered by my newly-found self-esteem and confidence. Instead of blaming myself for a situation, I’m laying it where it belongs: at the feet of two very selfish people. New Lisa  is not about to let anyone screw up her success.

Fair warning: this blog may be filled with my date escapades in the future. Let’s hope my dating pool contains more Prince Charmings than frogs.

9 thoughts on “Oh, Boys.

  1. Caliente!

    I loved Kathryn Alice’s ”Love Will FInd You”…really got me in a good space mentally, spiritually and emotionally. Can’t wait to see what comes.

  2. I jumped into the online-dating pool this summer too. At first I was terrified — but it became normal after a while (the process, not the guys 🙂 While I was living in a city — it was amazing the number of guys that I would at least consider talking to. Now that I’ve moved back to the small town that is my law school-life, the pool dried up. My preliminary standards are that they must be able to spell/use basic grammar… and have a job/be a student/be doing something with their life. Unfortunately, that cut just about all the guys out. And the ones that were left, well, didn’t have much else doing for them. Bummer. Only 8 more months until I moved back to the city!

  3. Good luck! I’ve been doing the online dating thing and so far no one has made it past the 2nd date…and honestly a lot of them don’t make it past the computer. I live in a very small town and single guys who are drug/smoke free, and willing to date a single divorce mom? Are non-existent.

Leave a comment